Font size






In order to comply with the requirements of the Civil Contingency Act 2007 and the EU Network and Information Systems (“NIS”) Directive, the designated Operators of Essential Services (“OES”) must take appropriate and proportionate technical and organisational measures to manage the risks to the security of network and information systems which support the delivery of essential services.

The Cyber Assessment Framework (“CAF”) was developed to provide guidance to OES and Digital Service Providers (“DSP”), and specifically to provide the GRA with the capability to assess the extent to which OES are achieving the required levels of cyber security. The CAF is based on the UK’s framework and as such is quite general. The GRA is liaising with the OES to tailor the CAF to each sector profile. The OES are required to work towards a set of fourteen cyber security principles written in terms of outcomes.

The general CAF is based on the following four main objectives:

i.     Managing security risk

ii.    Protecting against cyber attack

iii.   Detecting cyber security incidents

iv.   Minimising the impact of cyber security incidents

The CAF is further broken down into the specific principles that are based on sets of indicators of good practice. It can be reviewed and downloaded from the link below.